The Daredevil Cristopher Wright

I didn’t see those strings coming. I mean, not at all. I saw a bass coming and some brushed drums or something, but that’s not what I got. I got piercingly beautiful strings, and then staggering and broken down percussion, then a Destroyer-esque voice, then a glockenspiel, then really catchy call-and-response harmonies. The Daredevil Christopher Wright kind of sounds like a blues band or something, which wouldn’t have been my thing, so I’m glad I listened. There’s clearly something in the water in Eau Claire, WI. Or maybe it’s just that there’s nothing else to do except write great songs.

At any rate, people in the western part of the midwest can see the band with another Eau Claire band I quite enjoy called Laarks. The rest of us have to wait, I guess.

The Midwest Knows Tour:


06/20/08 – Duluth, MN – Beaner’s Central w/ Canine Heart Sounds

06/21/08 – Minneapolis, MN – The Nomad w/ Band of Annuals and The Coast

06/22/08 – St. Croix Falls, WI – Planet Supply

06/24/08 – Sheboygan, WI – Paradigm

06/26/08 – Madison, WI – Project Lounge

06/27/08 – Daytrotter Session

06/28/08 – Eau Claire, WI – Grand Little Theater w/ The Softrocks

*all dates with Laarks.

[mp3] The Daredevil Christopher Wright – East Coast

5 Responses to “The Daredevil Cristopher Wright”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I love these guys, i’m so glad that they are getting out there, everyone deserves to hear them! THANK YOU!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I’m with you on your review. Amazing in every direction. They’ve been working hard. Thanks for helping get the word out.

  3. Andy Says:

    Hell yes, this whole album is a great listen. EC in the house.

  4. Bella Says:

    There definitely is something in the water…these two bands, plus Bon Iver and DeYarmond Edison. Man, I’m proud to be an Eau Claire-ian! 🙂

  5. Anonymous Says:

    If you’re looking for a great place to spend the weekend that is close, you should consider St. Croix Falls, WI & Taylors Falls’ Wannigan Day’s Festivals. http://www.wannigandays.com

    This year is going to be really great. I am planning on spending some time there on Saturday and staying for the Fireworks over the St. Croix River. They are having a 50’s Theme and will be having a hot rod & classic car show. Fun!

    If you don’t know what a Wannigan is, you can find out at: http://www.wannigandays.com

    Less that a hour from St. Paul!

Leave a comment