There’s this Alicia Keys song….

I’m not a fan of Ms. Alicia Keys’ work. It’s not that she doesn’t have a good voice (she does) it’s no that she writes terrible songs (she doesn’t). It’s just decidedly not my thing. There is however, this one song that my brother played for me on Friday in an attempt to sway me. It didn’t work, but this song itself, albeit a short piano instrumental, is amazing. It’s nice that she decided to let everyone know she was an amazing pianist again instead of drifting into the slimy depths of urban pop sheen.

[mp3] Alicia Keys – As I am

Again, full disclosure, I don’t even recommend this record if you’re not already into Ms. Keys body of work….but Bob Dylan does.

2 Responses to “There’s this Alicia Keys song….”

  1. Darcy Says:

    This is really good, need to get the new one. I don’t mind alicia at all, you should give her another shot.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    On her previous album The Diary of Alicia Keys, she has a similar intro to her album. It’s called Harlem’s Nocturne, and it’s an interesting fusion much like this one. Just sayin.

Leave a comment